Looking Back UK to release music featured in an award-winning film

South Staffordshire band, Looking Back UK, have released the album “Can Anybody Hear Me?”. The title track is featured in the new film “How to Build a Girl” and will be released on Revolver Records from the 10th of January 2020.

“How to Build a Girl”, based upon a screenplay written by Caitlin Moran, the film has won ‘The Prize of the International Federation of Film Critics’ (FIPRESCI Prize) at The Toronto International Film Festival in 2019. The film has received many positive reviews from critics, stating “Some pure Caitlin Moran gold is to be had in this very funny and sometimes inspiring coming-of-age comedy” – Peter Bradshaw, The Guardian.

With links to the midlands aplenty in the film, it only made sense that some of the music would feature artists of the area. Looking Back UK, comprised of the members; Derek Ridgway, Darron Hickey, Ian Nichols, Henry Bradley and Peter Hoggins, have been an active band since 2012 and have played in venues all over the UK. On getting the track into the film, Derek explained how it was all by chance encounters and knowing the right people. “Gareth Scales, who is now one of the top film editors around contacted me about our music. The film company needed an original song for the film ideally by a Wolverhampton band and did we have anything suitable. I contacted my song writing partner, Darron, and we sent all we had over to the film’s musical producer. For months we heard nothing then quite out of the blue we were contacted and asked if they could use our song “Can Anybody Hear Me”. We were over the moon and that finally after over 30 years of writing songs and being on the road we were to get some recognition for our work.”

The album is to be Released by Revolver Records, based in the midlands, on the 10th of January 2020 and can be found on all major streaming services.


While you’re all off enjoying the Euros (the division between England and Wales in the office is reaching fever pitch!), we’re going to make this all a little slicker and a little easier to navigate. We should also be able to bring in more things for you to look at, like Instagram, Youtube and some new and improved store links. Bear with it, it’ll be worth it in the end!

Pete Kent- The Hidden Hand PRE-ORDER INFO

We’ve been teasing you a little with the news of Pete Kent’s second album, and we can now officially reveal the artwork, track listing and how to get your hands on it! Big thanks to Helen Dale for the fantastic artwork that you’ll see below. But, we know all you want to know is how to pre-order it!

There are 2 versions you can pre-order. You can either pre-order “The Hidden Hand,” and his debut album “The Sands Of Time,” as a double package for £15, or you can pre-order just “The Hidden Hand,” for £10.

To pre-order, all you have to do is email us at sales@revolver.coop  and tell us your name, which version you’d like to order, your address and a contact phone number. We’ll call you in the week before the release to process payment and we’ll ship it straight out in time for release! The first 1000 albums will be pressed on a vinyl style CD, so you’ll have a special limited version before they revert to standard discs.

So, what are you waiting for?! Get hold of your copy before they disappear!

The Hidden Hand Front


  1. Icon (Kent)
  2. Everytime I See Your Face (Kent)
  3. The Hidden Hand (Kent)
  4. Summer Daze (Kent)
  5. Hot Water (King, Lindup, Badarou, Gould)
  6. When The Lights Go Down (Kent)
  7. Everywhere (McVie)
  8. The Devil’s Chair (Kent)
  9. Skyline (Kent)
  10. The Way It Is (Hornsby)
  11. One Trick Pony (Kent)

Produced, Engineered and Mastered by Greg Chandler at Priory Recording Studios, Canwell.

Released by Revolver Records © & ℗ 2016 Revolver Records REVXD280

Artwork by Helen Dale

Photography by Helen Lloyd & Scott Dale


More Ways To Connect

Oh, hi there. How are you on this fine winter’s day? Good to hear it! Here at Revolver, we’re gearing up for a pretty busy year, and we’re slowly but surely giving you a ton of new ways to interact with us. You’ve seen on the right our Twitter feeds are live and being used as much as possible. Well, now we have our Facebook pages up and running again! You can either click on www.facebook.com/revrecs and www.facebook.com/heavymetalrecords or follow the widget links on the right. Youtube and Instagram are coming…just a ton of other stuff to do first!

Also, Raw Energee’s single “Climb The Wall,” is available now on all good digital stores, so make sure you check it out!