We live in interesting times! Four members of Parliament have come together to form a band, in a spirit of cooperation rarely reported in Westminster. The four members of Parliament are Peter Wishart – Keyboards (SNP) Perth and North Perthshire – Ian Cawsey – bass/vocals (L) Brigg and Goole – Greg Knight – Drums (C) East Yorkshire – and Kevin Brennen – Vocals (L) Cardiff West.

The band was formed in 2004 by Peter Wishart, ex of Runrig and Big Country, who is the only current MP to have appeared on Top Of The Pops. They are the world’s only Parliamentary rock band, and have helped to raise over £320,000 fo charity since their first gig.

With a growing fan base, they have regularly performed before Ministers and MPs, as  well as the public. In 2005, their first single on EMI was downloaded by, the then British Prime Minister, Tony Blair.

In 2005, MP4 recorded a charity EP entitled House Music, which was released as a download by EMI, with proceeds going to Save The Children. The band continues to break new ground, performing at an event for the Performing Rights Society in December 2009. They were joined on stage by former Undertones frontman, Fergal Sharkey, performing his much loved hit; “Teenage Kicks”. Fergal of this parish, best known latterly for his role as head honcho at UK Music; the music industry lobbying group.

In 2008, MP4 were the subject of a special television short biography programme, made by Sky, and broadcast on the Sky Arts channel during the year. In January 2009, MP4 made a guest appearance on BBC1’s TV programme ‘Your Country Needs You’, with the winning UK Eurovision hopeful, Jade, and the other two finalist acts – the Twins and Mark Evans. The band have been perennial favourites at the annual Rock the Boat party, hosted by the BPI (British Record Industry). An event marking end of term at Parliament.