James Young With Jan Hammer

City Slicker

James Young City Slicker

WKFM69 (1986)

City Slicker was a collaborative effort from Styx lead guitarist James Young and composer for TV’s Miami Vice, Jan Hammer, and the differing styles of the two are made for each other judging by this album. There is a confident swagger to this album that many other soft rock records fail to pull off, with the guitar work not becoming the main focus of a wonderfully textured album. James Young’s solo career wasn’t a long one, but this will surely stand up alongside albums from Styx without any problems.

For fans of: Styx, Kansas, Van Halen

Track Listing:

  1. City Slicker
  2. Something To Remember You By
  3. Waiting
  4. Still Feel Your Love
  5. Runnin’ Out Of Time
  6. Chain Me Down
  7. No Mistake
  8. Prisoner Of War
  9. Wild Dogs In The Night
  10. Empty PromisesFM Revolver Logo